Refreshment for the Soul

03/28/2020

Maybe my soul needed this- this time home, doing classes online. All of the sudden, with normalcy ripped away, I am finding love in doing the things that only a couple weeks ago brought stress and pressed into my "precious time." And now? Time is weird in this season. This social distancing and shelter in place has made rapid change a reality; it's made me realize how temporal life really is. We are not promised tomorrow. Goodbyes I took for granted I now treasure the memories of. Now I am grateful for homework and classes because it's become my sanity and thank the Good Lord for going to a Bible College because with every assignment I am relishing in the truth of God and am learning so much more about Him.

Living here in this world of fast and slow has put into perspective that I really have no control of anything, no matter how much control I might think I have. But God does. How often we say, "God is in Control!" Yet when the world literally falls apart like this, how quick are we to wonder where He is and even doubt His presence. But the truth is, God is in control. He is here with me and He is holding not only me but this entire world in His hands.

There's been times I've been angry. There's been times I've been sad and depressed. But triumphant, somehow praise has come from my lips even when I don't understand all of this and when I'd rather not worship God.

There are a few things I hope and pray for this time of quarantine. First, I pray that this will strengthen our faith. That we will learn the art of choosing worship despite our status and emotions. I pray that the world will not see a people living in fear but a people that worship in spite of fear and frustration. I pray this will be a time where our faith is emboldened and we are a light in this dark, terrified world. That we can pray hard prayers and ask God to crush this virus. Or even that He doesn't crush it and uses at as a painful tool of revival.

Second, I pray that this will be a time where we realize our need for community. That once this storm passes we can put down our phones and invest fully with the love of Christ into the relationships around us. FaceTime and Zoom can only take us so far. In a season of virtual connection and unity, I believe many of us feel unfathomably alone and isolated. Nothing in this world can replace real human interaction. And I cannot wait for the day I can be with friends and family in person again and actually give them hugs (and this is coming from a non-hugger, mind you!!).

And third, I pray that this will be season where we grow as people of thanksgiving. That this experience breaks down our walls of cynicism- that we realize life is fleeting and out of our control and that every good and perfect gift truly does come from God.

This is a season where we can grow so much more intimate with Christ, let's not waste these hours. This is a difficult season, and one I would've never knowingly asked for or imagined. But, I can say I am grateful for the ways God has already been stretching and growing my faith in Him. Take time to sit in the quiet, to let God speak to you in the times of boredom. 

Faye Jean Lentine
All rights reserved 2019
Powered by Webnode
Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started